Skip to content

Analyzing An InkJet Cartridge with Video Analysis

July 12, 2011

Recently I spent some time trolling around YouTube for public domain videos that I could use in my physics class to study motion.  You would think this would be easy, since there are so many videos out there.  But a good video for motion analysis has one additional requirement: the camera must remain still.  So all those great Space Shuttle, sports, and cat videos can’t be used.

(I think Tracker may be able to handle some of this with its Calibration Pair feature, but I am not sure.  If you know, please comment and enlighten!)

But I did finally find one interesting video; it’s a high speed and magnification video of an ink jet cartridge spitting out ink drops.  The link to the video is here.  The inkjet cartridge is a Fuji S-Class.  I managed to find this spec sheet.  I downloaded the video as an .flv (I use Moyea) and imported it into Tracker.  The challenge for my students will be simply this: find the speed of the ink drops and the volume of an ink drop.

The strobe period is 650ns, according to the video.  The spec sheet says the nozzle spacing is 0.02″.  So I did an analysis myself and found the speed is ~11 m/s and the volume is ~20pL.  Both these values are close the the spec sheet values.

From → Thoughts & Ideas

One Comment
  1. Brian,
    Tracker can do calibration point pair analysis, which lets it handle zooming and panning frames. It’s pretty easy to do, but I’m not sure it’s something I’d recommend for students in a first year course.

Leave a Reply

